Careers in Writing Arts Self Evaluation

1.    List your personal strengths and weaknesses (responsible, procrastinator, creative, etc.).
My strengths include creativity, sarcasm, humor, and research writing. I believe that through high school and college I have been able to personally hone these skills. Going through school all of the topics of research and essay writing have been drilled into my head. I understand what it takes to write a good essay and conduct the right type of research to persuade someone into why my point is correct. Add persuasion to that list of strengths as well. I have become an excellent persuasive writer. My parents think I have a locked away talent for law school to become a lawyer but I will stick to using my persuasion skills in my writing pieces. I would also say I take my writing seriously and that is a key element. Ever since I got to college I have had the chance to write in new ways such as the ones I had listed above - creativity, sarcasm, and humor. College has opened up courses for me to not only evaluate my writing skills, but really reel them in to that niche I believe I am best at. I also believe that my ability to really understand constructive criticism is a strength. I can take peoples harsh comments or ideas with pride and understand they are only aiding me in my journey to becoming a better writer. My weakness is definitely procrastination. Just here I left his blog entry until 2:15PM the day of the class. I always tell my self I get my best work done when I'm writing down to the minute, and in some cases that is true, many of my best essays have come out of procrastination situations. However, when I procrastinate I sometimes forget those simple grammatical errors which makes my pieces look sloppy and my work look lazy since it is such an easy correction. 

2.   List important or related courses you have taken.
-Comp 1 & 2
-The Writers Mind
-Magazine Article Writing
-Journalistic Writing
-Writing Children's Stories
-Creative Writing 1 & 2
-Participatory Media
-Intro to New Media

3.   What is your major and specialization? What is your overall cumulative GPA? In your major? How many credits have you taken in your major?
My major is are Writing Arts my specializations are Creative Writing I have a 3.5 cumulative GPA and I have taken around 40+ credits in the majors. 

4.   Do you have a minor or coordinate major? Explain.
I have another major in Communication Studies with a concentration in New Media and a specialization in the Interpersonal Communication track. I love pairing these two majors because the way one communicates can directly effect the way they write. Seeing the way these two tie together is extremely interesting. Also Writing Arts helps my writing skills for both majors and any course I have to take. 

5.   List hobbies, activities, interests, especially those related to your major.
I read and write on a daily basis if I can. I used to work on the Avant literary magazine which I did love until I always had class during the meeting times. Every experience or interest I take part in, even things like diving and gymnastics, have ended up in my writing somehow, whether it is a story or just a simple idea. 

6.List all the offices you have held in clubs or writing associations.
Secretary of Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority
Vice President of Membership Development of Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority
Secretary of Inter Greek Council (IGC)
Vice President of Students for Sensible Drug Policy 

7.Do you hold any special licenses?
CPR 

8.List special skills. Have you served in the military? Have you ever published? What computer programs are you skilled in?
I have been published in my high school newspaper and an online publication. I am skilled in computer programs such as Microsoft word, Excel, Powerpoint along with Adobe Photoshop and iMovie 

9.List the types of writing you do the most.
Essay and research writing along with creative writing such as poetry and children's stories. 


10.List awards, honors, academic or otherwise.
Honor roll and Dean's list for four consecutive semesters

11.List special programs in which you have participated.
I have participated in a special leadership mentor program where I help others who want to become leaders and help those leaders teach other organizations.

12.List charity work.
I have participated in numerous types of charity work. Every year I participate in March of Dimes, Relay for Life, Back to the Boro, AIDs walk, Breast Cancer fundraising and walks, Cystic Fibrosis Benefit Ball, Donating money for Thon at Penn State, Raising money for local animal shelters, donating books, clothing, and school supplies to needy children, along with running a canned food drive during Thanksgiving and much more. 

13.List any scholarships you have received.
None

14.List key projects and roles you have played in them.
While I interned at a PR firm, Impressions PR & Publicity, I worked on many projects such as writing and placing articles in many different South Jersey publications (SJ Mom's, SJ Bizz, Courier Post, Philadelphia Inquirer and more) I have also helped Key Note speakers be placed at different conferences. 

15.List all jobs you have had (dates, length if employment, promotions, responsibilities, title, etc. Note: it’s okay to say “Summer 2010” and not list specific dates.

Lab Monitor - Rowan University IT Department, Glassboro New Jersey - September 2011 - Present 
-Make sure all printers and computers are running
-Assist students in computer or printing aid

Intern - Impressions PR & Publicity - Voorhees, New Jersey - May 2011 - December 2011
-Write press and news releases for articles about the current clients
-Work on my employers portfolio and cut clips we had placed in newspapers
-Research places and PR possibilities for clients
-Update media contact lists with recent contacts 

Lifeguard - Sparkling Pools Services - Princeton, New Jersey - June 2009 - August 2011 
-Studied CPR, first aid and life saving techniques so I am able to help patrons who need assistance 
-Watch the patrons in and around the pool area so all patrons remains safe
-Test pool chemicals on an hourly basis so patrons are safe when in water

16.Describe the kinds of employment you seek (rank order of your top three job goals)
1. Professor of media communications
2. Employee in a communications department at a media/technology company 
3. Working as a researcher for media communications 

17.List three people who can recommend you and how you have been associated with them.
Jackie Pantaliano - Interned for her PR company
Kelvin Rodriquez - Work with him on Inter Greek Council, he is the Greek life coordinator at Rowan University 
Kristin Farney - Journalistic Writing professor, has written me a recommendation in the past 




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Alaina Wezel - I love to write poetry, short stories and magazine articles, along with listening to acoustic music, being outdoors, napping and eating Annie's organic mac and cheese. My dream is to be accepted into NYU for graduate school where I can hopefully hone my skills on media communication as well as writing.

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed