When one is asked the broad question of what type of writer they envision themselves as, many would reply with a very broad answer - a successful one. However just like how Thomas Turner describes writing in The Writers Life, "It took the job realities of the post-college life for me to realize that bags of money did not get mailed to writers after they had sent an essay to the New Yorker..." Many people consider themselves writers but it takes a bundle of skill and patience to get where one wants to be. To be honest, many people find the viewing of their article in print or that paycheck being mailed to their house as the most rewarding part. However, I must disagree my favorite part is stepping back and looking at what I accomplished for myself. Yes receiving that first byline can be an extremely exciting memory, but years later you will remember more then anyone what you wrote. Right now I like to keep most of my writing to myself, sharing it with those close to me, however I would like to see myself if five to ten years from now having the courage to share it with others. Maybe even to the point where I could see it published in well-known or one of my personal favorite publications. I have been published on a few online websites as well as my high school news paper which does make me proud, but I don't believe I have reached that point in my life yet that I have the need to let others read my thoughts. I would never look at myself as a coward or shy by any means, I just believe that individuals grow at their own pace. I do believe however that if I commit time to writing not only as a hobby but as a means of some type of income, I will want it to be as a creative outlet, more in the realm of novels, poetry or picture books. That is also what I see my niche as - creative writing. I love being able to express myself in the most creative way imaginable without being frowned upon for not having "expert quotes," "facts," and "statistics." Yes in magazine and newspaper writing along with essay writing those elements are key and all good fun, but I enjoy not being bound to a structure. I think it's much more difficult to dive into the world of creative writing but I believe, when I am ready of course, I will make others laugh, cry, and experience every emotion I print upon some pages. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Alaina Wezel - I love to write poetry, short stories and magazine articles, along with listening to acoustic music, being outdoors, napping and eating Annie's organic mac and cheese. My dream is to be accepted into NYU for graduate school where I can hopefully hone my skills on media communication as well as writing.

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed