Attending a graduate school has been my dream since I entered my first year as an undergraduate here at Rowan University. It wasn't because the economy sucked and I didn't want to do the extensive job searching that most people dread once they are holding that nicely framed degree, but it is the honest love of learning about the subjects that I have a significant interest in. I love the idea of being able to truly say that I am a 'master' in a specific area of study. From there I would also like to be able to do what most of my professors have done for me- inspire me. I want to inspire other students to succeed and try their hardest to prove something to the world. Prove that learning is something that can be loved and shouldn't be ignored or feared. There are an abundance of universities I will be applying to so I can try and make my higher education dream come true. 

1. If you have not read any of my other blog posts, then you would not understand how much I dream of going to graduate school at New York University in the Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development by receiving a Master of Arts in Media, Culture and Communication. This program contains the areas of study that I wish to eventually teach in when I become a professor. Specific courses in the program I would love to take are Interpersonal Communication, Young People & Media Cultures, Communication & the Culture Industries, The Languages of Communication, and Globalization Memory & VIsual Culture. The main reasons why I want to go to NYU for this specific program is just that - the program itself is very specific and geared towards media and communication. It is honestly the only program I know of that offers these types of courses that intertwine media and communications together. I have done extensive research on communications and media programs and only stumbled across one or the other. It was either general communications or media in the sense of someone who wanted to enter the media film industry. I know that when you attend graduate school you should try and find that specific subject that interests you most, for me that is communication media so when I was able to find an entire graduate program that had these components I jumped at the opportunity to apply there. However, every university will have its cons for attending. For one, if I do get into NYU unless I get paid to go it will be extremely expensive. Also, since NYU is a prestigious school it is extremely hard to get into. I am not the best standardized test taker so I must excel in other aspects on my application if my GRE scores prove to be a bit lower then average.

2. Another University I am interested in is Portland State University. Yes drastically different from NYU, but I like different options, programs and areas. PSU has a communication studies program that is general, but has some very interesting class offerings such as New Media & Technology in Communication, Cybercultures, Social Support, Metaphor Play & Humor, along with many others. Not to mention Portland within itself has a very 'hipster' culture that could prove to be an extremely weird and fascinating place to live in. Anyone who walks around will see t-shirts that say "Keep Portland Weird." I don't anything specific about the professors, but I know the program is supposed to be a really interesting and informative one. I have read a decent amount about PSU's program and it is a good one for communications studies students, however like every graduate school program it costs a lot of money. That is a significant downfall for all programs. Yet, I do believe it is one that is worth the money, or worth the effort to try and receive a fellowship or teaching assistantship. I also believe that atmosphere has a lot to do with school as well. One may be going to a school near the most beautiful beaches but if there is no culture or life, then their education may not be the same. Being given the chance to immerse yourself in a new world is just as much a learning experience with the education one can receive.

3. Now back to the east coast, another program I am looking at is a Liberal Studies program at The New School in New York. I know a student who is currently attending the New School for a creative writing program. Though I would love to dabble in classes such as poetry and creative writing, I really don't think that is the type of degree I would want. The liberal studies course is just as significant and prestigious. Though this program clearly different than all the others I am applying to it still has some very amazing classes for example On Nothing, which discusses the ideas of nothingness, void, and the abyss and their significance in Western literature. Or Avant Garde which is all literature in an Avant Garde theme. Though I would like a graduate program that is more related to communications, these are all topics that I do love, as well as literature. The cons of the New School is that the program accepts next to no one which means you have to show how successful you are as a student through grades, extra curricula's, GRE's and your personal essay. Though it will be like that at most universities The New School is extremely small, therefore the smaller the school the less amount of students that are accepted. Yet, some of the pros is that all the program is so specific for liberal studies and the classes that I would love to take any class offered with any of the p



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Alaina Wezel - I love to write poetry, short stories and magazine articles, along with listening to acoustic music, being outdoors, napping and eating Annie's organic mac and cheese. My dream is to be accepted into NYU for graduate school where I can hopefully hone my skills on media communication as well as writing.

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed